top of page

REVIEW: LADIES MAN by KATY EVANS


TAHOE ROTH. Irreverent, cocky, playful and naughty. He’s not the guy you date. He’s the one night stand. The one your mother warned you about. The one your body craves. You’d think the man who called me succulent would want to strip me down and spread me out on his bed—like he’s done with countless others. But he passed on my offer…. Just like I’d once passed on his. He’s wary, like I am. He’s broken, like I am. And everyone knows two broken parts can’t ever make a whole. Tahoe and I are strictly friends. So I distract myself with other men. He doesn’t think my new man is good enough. This blond blue-eyed beast doesn’t think any man is—himself included. But the more time we spend together, the more confused I feel. I'm trying to open myself to love. Yet I'm quickly realizing that the only man I want is Tahoe Roth. The one man who will surely break my heart.

MELISSA'S REVIEW: 4 STARS

Katy Evans is a sort of new to me author. I know how immensely popular she is for her Real series, but I'm only familiar with the Manwhore series, which I absolutely love. You could say that I've been anticipating Tahoe's book for a while now. A long while, as in, since we first met him in Manwhore, LAST YEAR. A whole year I've been waiting. And, I think it was worth the wait? My reaction is equal parts delighted and frustrated, which is probably going to be a hot mess of a review. First, let's talk about what I did enjoy about Ladies Man. Writing - It was excellent. Once I felt that Katy hit her stride (more on this later), I was completely charmed by the writing alone. I couldn't stop reading. TAHOE - Sigh. Sigh so hard. I absolutely loved him. His fun-loving larger than life attitude was addicting and his innate alpha tendencies were balanced brilliantly by his tender and reverent approach to all things Gina. I couldn't get enough of the way he stripped her down and exposed her to him. He is her champion in self-acceptance, friendship and love, even if it means isolating his own desirous heart from hers. Gina - If you're like me and you didn't really take to her in Manwhore, Ladies Man will change your mind. Katy did an excellent job portraying her insecurities and vulnerability. She comes across as a relatable and authentic heroine. Chemistry - Holy shit, could this have burned any more slowly? You thought you were in pain with Saint and Rachel?? Yeah right. This shit was absolute torture. You know, you just absolutely know that when these two are together, they want each other. And when it finally, finally happens, hoo boy. Their complete adoration and sexual possessiveness for one another comes through in every scene that follows. Sex - A+ And what didn't work for me, whomp whomp whomp. Repetition - Tahoe's eyes. Fuck, okay they're blue. And they like to stare at each other. A lot. Got it. Moving on. Storyline/Timeframe - What happens? Not much. Aside from Gina packing to move, someone having a baby and Tahoe's two or three lacrosse games? Considering the timeframe of the book? Nothing. Happens. Speaking of timeframe, this book takes place over the span of a year. A year? Okay so I secretly love that it takes that long for them to finally, FINALLY be together. I loved being witness to their friendship full of playful ribbing and flirty nudges and was infatuated by the way they fall in love with one another but it just annoyed me, okay? Yes I'm a hypocrite and I loved the slow burn but, fuck. Too long. Pacing - The first 20ish% or so, concerning character introduction and framework of the story, was precariously laid out and made me feel a little apprehensive about the story. I got over it, I think? Sex - Yep, hi, its me the hypocrite again. But, BUT, I really wanted to see more Tahoe raw and unfiltered. More. I just wanted more. Especially after being tortured for so long. Did I love it? Yes. Did it frustrate the hell out of me? Hell yes. I think that Katy Evans fans will be pleased. I also feel that fans of the friends to lovers trope will absolutely delight in this story. Recommended to romance readers who love a good angsty slow burn, tortured loveable heroes and engaging writing.


bottom of page