top of page

REVIEW: WICKED HEART by LEISA RAYVEN


Liam Quinn is talented, gorgeous, and one of the biggest movie stars in the world. He's also the only man Elissa Holt has ever truly loved. After being out of her life for six years, he and his gorgeous fiancé are set to star in the new Broadway show Elissa is stage managing. The only trouble is, when late night rehearsals bring Elissa and Liam together, the line between what is and what could have been gets blurred, and one moment of weakness will lead to a scandal that echoes around the world. Elissa knows that falling for Liam again would be a tragedy in the making, but as any good romantic will tell you, love doesn’t always follow the script.

MELISSA'S REVIEW: FIVE MUST READ STARS

Gah, I seriously feel overcome with how much I loved this book. It had all the perfect ingredients for a five star read: stellar writing, incredible chemistry, witty and intelligent dialogue and a well balanced and perfectly paced storyline. I think its actually my favorite of the series. Aaaaaand here's why...

LIAM fucking QUINN. Well done, Leisa, well done. Liam Quinn. Right from the very beginning, I knew he would be a character that I would absolutely be crazy for. Leisa does such a great job with his character, from his loving and compassionate nature to his transparent and endless feelings for Elissa, he's just got it all. Don't even get me started on the swoon, hot damn.

I also really enjoyed Elissa. Not one to be bowled over, she is sharp, competent and sure. But she is also delicate and genuine. I loved her sense of humor and could totally relate to her obsessions with cheese and Liam Quinn.

I'd argue that while I wouldn't say Wicked Heart is an emotional read, it did bring out about a wide range of emotions in me. I laughed, a lot. I found myself eager for the witty and lively banter between Josh (hey boo *kissy face I want to have your babies emojicon*) and Elissa, Josh and Liam, and Elissa and Liam. This book was also pretty fucking sexy, but not outrageously so. Leisa was really smart here in the way she framed all the facets of Liam and Elissa's relationship and I think that's why when we get to the steam scenes, their chemistry is alive and eager which results in sex that is believable and passionate.

Sex and laughter aside, Wicked Heart was simply enjoyable to read. I'm not usually a fan of time jumps but in this situation I thought it worked well and it helped that it wasn't done excessively. The story also never felt rushed or lost it's momentum and it was easy to fall back into the story the few times it was absolutely necessary for me to put it down.

As one of my top reads of 2016, I absolutely recommend Wicked Heart to anyone who reads romance. It is a definite must read to all Leisa Rayven fans and romance readers who love stories full of humor, angst and fate.


bottom of page