top of page

GUEST REVIEW by JODIE LARSON: THE SHADOW by SYLVAIN REYNARD


From the New York Times bestselling author of the Gabriel trilogy comes the hotly anticipated follow-up to The Raven, a sensual novel set in Florence featuring the dangerously intoxicating couple of Raven and William...

Raven Wood’s vampyre prince has returned, pledging his love and promising justice for every wrong done to her. In the wake of their reunion, Raven is faced with a terrible decision—allow the Prince to wreak vengeance against the demons of her past, or persuade him to stay his hand. But there is far more at stake than Raven’s heart...

A shadow has fallen over the city of Florence. Ispettor Batelli will not rest until he uncovers Raven’s connection to the theft of the priceless art from the Uffizi Gallery. And while the Prince hunts a traitor who sabotages him at every turn, he finds himself the target of the vampyres’ mortal enemy.

As he wages a war on two fronts, he will need to keep his love for Raven secret, or risk exposing his greatest weakness...

JODIES REVIEW: 5 STARS

Wow. Once again, Reynard has not disappointed in the next installment of the Florentine series. As a huge fan of the Gabriel series, I had put high hopes into this new one, especially since it’s a paranormal, something I typically don’t always go for. But, this series changed my mind when The Raven came out. And now, continuing with William and Raven’s story, I think it further solidifies my belief that Sylvain Reynard can do no wrong.

There was a lot going on in this book, which there had to be because so much was left hanging in the balance at the end of Raven. But, Reynard takes you through each conflict with ease, making it easy to follow and understand what’s going on in William’s world. And William is distraught, trying to find his balance between protecting his city and people while trying to protect Raven, his love. Tensions were high throughout the book as William fought for the balance he seeks.

You revisit the Underworld more in this book, giving the reader some insight into how long vampires have been around and the hierarchy and lust for power drives them. Whatever you thought you knew about the Underworld and its inhabitants, you may discover that you were wrong. I know I was. Allegiances and lines will be drawn and tested as everyone prepares for the fate of the city and the undead creatures who dwell there.

And, of course, we still get glimpses of my favorite characters, Gabriel and Julianne Emerson. I love that they’re included in this storyline because I’m one of those fans who want more from them.

I don’t want to give any spoilers away, but I will say that there’s a few scenes toward the end that will make you sit up straight and bite your nails as pieces of the puzzle start to unfold. It definitely leaves you wanting more.

Heart pounding, breathtaking, suspenseful, and romantic…that’s how I would describe this book. If you haven’t tried The Raven yet because you’re afraid or unsure of paranormal, I highly suggest you try it because you will want to read The Shadow. I will be waiting (impatiently) for the next book in the Florentine series because I have so many questions after how the book ends that I need to know. Right. Now!


bottom of page