top of page

NEW REVIEW: NOVEMBER 9 by COLLEEN HOOVER


Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse. Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

MY REVIEW

With every new release, Colleen Hoover seems to master her craft more and more. Her stories are clean and concise and flow beautifully. However, with that professional growth, I think some of magic that she has given us with her earlier releases seems to be lost. I cant help but say to myself "you can't have your cake and eat it too". I thought November 9 had a unique and clever storyline which was executed sharply and seemed to come effortlessly. I never felt any part was rushed or forced resulting in a story that had equal parts beginning, middle, and end. However, for all the technical brilliance, the character development fall flat. In the beginning, both Ben and Fallon are 18 years old and it is obvious. You can feel their inexperience and vulnerability. Yet as the story progresses by five years, neither of them seemed to mature, they were just older. I was also surprised how cliche and predictable the character motives were. The "twist" didn't feel twisty. I wasn't surprised or distressed. I was also never overwhelmed by any of the dialogue and actually felt it bordering on cheesy and juvenile. I'm trying. Trying so hard not to compare this release with earlier releases but the struggle is real. I think its just natural to compare and analyze. I'd love another Hopeless, another Maybe Someday. I'd even take another Slammed. Something with characters that feel real and I'm taken under by a story so wondrous and extraordinary that my attention and thoughts are wholly consumed. I want to fall in love. November 9, I'm underwhelmed.


bottom of page