top of page

Manwhore by Katy Evans

Title: Manwhore

Author: Katy Evans Genre: Romance

Rating: ★★★★✩

Synopsis

Is it possible to expose Chicago’s hottest player—without getting played? This is the story I've been waiting for all my life, and its name is Malcolm Kyle Preston Logan Saint. Don’t be fooled by that last name though. There’s nothing holy about the man except the hell his parties raise. The hottest entrepreneur Chicago has ever known, he’s a man’s man with too much money to spend and too many women vying for his attention. Mysterious. Privileged. Legendary. His entire life he’s been surrounded by the press as they dig for tidbits to see if his fairytale life is for real or all mirrors and social media lies. Since he hit the scene, his secrets have been his and his alone to keep. And that’s where I come in. Assigned to investigate Saint and reveal his elusive personality, I’m determined to make him the story that will change my career. But I never imagined he would change my life. Bit by bit, I start to wonder if I'm the one discovering him...or if he's uncovering me. What happens when the man they call Saint, makes you want to sin?

Review

Intense. Captivating. Delicious.

Rachel Livingston is a journalist with Edge magazine – a publication losing momentum, on a downward spiral and hanging on by a thread. In order to help revive the magazine, Rachel is tasked with uncovering Chicago’s most wanted bachelor billionaire, Malcolm Saint. Malcolm Kyle Preston Logan Saint, actually. Her assignment is easy – get in, get close, expose him. But what happens when suddenly, it’s not so easy? How far will she bend in order to save her career, to save the magazine she has loved since college, to continue to keep her independence?

From the time Rachel was a little girl she has loved stories, first falling in love with the ones her mother and grandmother would tell her about her father. Those stories of her father have helped to shape her memories of a man she has never met. As she starts to write Malcolm’s story, begins uncovering him, she unexpectedly finds a man who is as selfless as he is ruthless, unsettled yet precise. Yes, he is successful, powerful and ambitious. But Malcolm Saint is also romantic, thoughtful and giving. She finds herself at war with the man she has written in her heart with the man written in the media, ultimately giving in to his unyielding pursuit and sending the story of her heart to print.

Malcolm was such a paradox; I’m still trying to figure him out. Social media portrays him as this enigmatic, cunning businessman, and in truth, he is. But when it comes to Rachel he is tender and thoughtful. As Rachel pursues her story I really felt like I was uncovering him, learning his secrets. Then at the same time I was also discovering him, that underneath all of his elusiveness he is honest and loyal and really quite vulnerable.

The chemistry between Rachel and Malcolm is so hot that it became another character in the book for me. The buzz between them from the first time they meet is electric and it intensifies and manifests itself into something near tangible. I was completely enamored with the simple corner of the mouth kisses as I was with their most intimate scenes. Katy Evans has done a fantastic job with building the burn between Rachel and Malcolm that as I was reading I kept thinking “read faster, read faster. faster. faster. faster.” I was so anxious and on edge for them to come together and burst into flames that when they finally did, well, it was flawless. And now, days later, I can still feel their burn and my thoughts and feelings have only intensified for Rachel and Malcolm and their story.

Ok so the ending was…not nice!! I was just getting into it, really just starting to fall in love with Malcolm and Rachel. But as unfair as it feels, I think it was perfect! I loved it. I am SO so excited to read the rest of their story in Manwhore +1.

This was my first Katy Evans book. I fell in love with her writing and I’m so excited and eager to read more from her.

bottom of page